Shared History - August/Sept. 2018
- story by Denise Jacobs
It was with no small sense of joy and gratitude that friends and family gathered at Commodore Park in Bay St. Louis on July 21 to dedicate a an official Mississippi state historic marker.
The plaque also commemorates five structures that were destroyed by Hurricane Katrina in 2005: the Bay-Waveland Yacht Club (which stood at the former site of the Peerless Oyster Company (circa 1909), St. Joseph Chapel, the Taylor School (which later became the Bay-Waveland Garden Club), and the Bay St. Louis Little Theatre.
In her remarks at the marker dedication, Dot Larroux Kersanac, Cedar Point native, teacher, and the woman behind the marker, noted that Cedar Point played an important role in the development of Bay St. Louis.
Markers of other types - indicators, perhaps - can be found in Cedar Point, as well. Larroux Park, at the corner of Dunbar Avenue and Julia Street, is one such community touchstone.
Thanks to grant funding from Hancock County, the green space now boasts new swings and slides. The park is completely fenced and includes a basketball court and an old gazebo. One very heavy picnic table rests in the shade of an old oak tree that is rooted in the yard next door, but is no respecter of fences.
All this property later became Larroux Park as gifted by Ed Larroux via a 99-year-lease.
It’s a happy sight, and one that reminds us of the resiliency of neighborly bonds and the strength of community.
For this we are glad recipients.